Saturday, August 7, 2010

7.8.2010: A Real Entry

Okay, so I haven't been writing in detail like I have in the past.

I don't know....  should I go back and write more detail about some things?

Like Zyankali....  I completely skimmed over that evening.


The problem is I don't have a lot of new interesting things to talk about.  And anything I've been cooking hasn't been that exciting either.

I could complain about my roommates from the other night.  But once I mentioned that perhaps I should ask the people at the front desk to explain what I meant, the cigarette was out pretty quickly.

I walked two hours to get to the museum.  Of course, it was at a super slow pace while I took pictures along the way.  And I took an hour nap in front of the Altes Museum before I decided to go in.  It was a very nice nap.

I've been living in a hostel, which is about fifteen minutes walk from the school where I'm taking the class.

I think if I would have been in Berlin first, I definitely would have gotten a bike....  I kinda wish I had a bike.

Ooh, ooh!  I found an iPod cord for cheap! Yay!

Okay, so this entry is a little random and probably doesn't make much sense.  Just a mishmash of what I've been thinking lately.

I've been slowly working on updating my resume and cover letters....  but I'm kinda dreading the thought of interviews and all that jazz when I get back.


Have I mentioned lately how much I love my camera?  I know that it was a stupid impulse purchase, but I'm so thankful I have an awesome digital SLR.  It may not be top of the line, and I may already be dreaming of a newer model, but that doesn't change my love for my Sony.  It's been a great camera to get started on.

There's a lot that I now know to do on my next trip. Like go to Amsterdam and Prague- those are the two cities I keep hearing the most about.  And if I work in Germany again, I will definitely set up a bank account (I didn't this time since I was just receiving cash).  And a smaller rolly-bag for my carry on will be a great idea.  I might even bring a travel partner too....  Anyone up for a few adventures with me?

Pictures: Reichstag, Flower, Bear, Statue, Brandenburg Gate, Berliner Dom

Friday, August 6, 2010

5.8.2010: Museuminsel


On every Thursday night, all the museums in the Museuminsel are free!

So tonight I ended up going to the Altes Museum and the Alte Nationalgalerie.

Next week I plan on going to the Neues Museum, as long as I get a timeslot ticket on time (they were out when I got there).

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

3.8.2010: Rain, rain....

It's raining in Berlin.  Which has made it cooler.  But wet.  Now we're studying conjunctions and prepositions in class.  Which is a subject that I really need to review!

Finished everything for financial aid.  Working on cover letters and applications for a new job for the fall.  Woohoo!

Well, I need to finish my homework....  I'll try to write more....  even though I don't have much new to talk about....

2.8.2010: Homesick

I'm homesick.

That sounds really weird.

I am homesick.

Nope, still sounds weird.

I guess this has come about because I've started to think about the upcoming school year (living in North Quad. Where am I going to work? Financial aid. Move-in, etc.).... and pizza-- Little Caesar's pizza.  Maybe it's because I don't have much to do with my time.  And I miss my friends.  Stupid time difference makes it impossible to catch anyone online.

Anywho....  What I am doing:
....class.... class.... class....
homework, homework, homework.
walking.... walking.... walking....
Trying not to spend too much money.
Eating lots of spaghetti- it's cheap and filling.

And yeah....  that's about it.

I think I'm going to splurge this week and go into the Olympic Stadium.  It's the one thing that I'm bummed that I didn't get to do the last time I was in Berlin.

And my passport is in!  Woohoo!  I just have to go get it now.

Well, that is about it for today.  I'm in class, but wanted to do a quick update....  Since I haven't written for over a week.

Tschüss!

Saturday, July 24, 2010

24.07.2010: Ich bin (eine) Berlinerin

Maybe the joke of my title would make more sense if I wasn't wanting to be grammatically correct....  but oh well.... 

So it coming up on the second week mark of my stay here in Berlin.

What have I been up to?  Plenty.

First off, I should mention that I started a German class last Monday at Akademie für Fremdsprachen (http://www.akafremd.de/?&lang=en) and placed into the higher intermediate class.  Yay me!

This past week we have been studying the Konjunktiv Zwei (Subjunctive) verb case.

The best part about taking this class is that I'm going to at least get credit for something I do this summer (unfortunately I did not complete eight weeks of my internship, so I won't be able to receive credit for German 351).

Wednesday I again went all the way to the US Consulate in order to apply for a new passport.  Everything went pretty smoothly and I'll be getting my new on about a week from now.

Monday, as I said in a previous post, I stayed in and played Crazy Eights with a couple of roommates.  The next night- I changed rooms, but still went out with the same people, and plus one (a Chinese guy who has been studying in France for the past year).

So Tuesday night Graham talked us all into going to some bar that his tour guide told him about.

Well...  I think most of the Abenteuer was actually getting there.  After passing a few "working girls" and their "managers", asking for directions a few times....  we finally got there.

Imagine a haunted house as a bar.  That was about it.  I kinda thought the bar itself was a little disappointing, but it was still nice to get out and do something- and talk.

Other than that, it's been life in a hostel and studying.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

20.07.2010: Cyanide

http://www.zyankali.de/

Großbeerenstraße

Graham's idea....  me, Maggie and Chinese studying in France.

Fill in details later.

Oh yeah and: http://www.akafremd.de/

Monday, July 19, 2010

19.07.2010: You win some, you lose some....

I won the roommate lottery the last couple of days. 

First, last night I was the only girl in a room of guys.

And tonight I played Crazy Eights with Maggie and Graham. 

So, yes, right now I'm thinking: yay! for hostels!

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Strasbourg

Okay, I think I need to sit down and finally write about Strasbourg....

Even though I think my feelings about the trip are a little tainted after all that has happened....

It was a nice little trip I think, and I would love to go to Strasbourg again someday....  I kinda wish I could study there, as it is a college town.

So, I left off the story where I finally got to Strasbourg.


Out of the Gare de Strasbourg, in the lightly lit early night.

And my shining star?  McDonalds- with free wifi!  I don't think there could have been anything quite as beautiful!  (I know, I know, I'm here in France and I continue to eat at McDonalds....  but don't you fear- I eat much better the next couple of nights!)

Remember how I had planned to go to Nice?  That meant that I had reserved a bed in Nice, not Strasbourg.  So I had to cancel my reservation there and find somewhere to stay that night in Strasbourg. 

Well, I found somewhere on the internet, but when I went to find it, I stumbled upon a place that had a room for a little bit cheaper that happened to have a room free.  So I stayed there, and then found a another, (much) cheaper place to stay the next nights since the hotel I was currently in had no occupancy the following night.

What I ended up finding was a hotel room cheaper than I was finding any hostel beds for.....  interesting....

The main disadvantage of the hotel that I found was the distance from city center....  and how the last bus there was at quarter to midnight.

And the directions online sure didn't help!  As most of the page was in English, this was the only part that was left in French....

It was a small hotel room with a TV that didn't work.  The bathroom was not included, and the sink was broken.  In the hallway, the bathrooms stunk....  as far as the showers, I don't know (don't worry, I had taken a shower in the morning of the first hotel, and it was only a couple of days....).  The bed- hard, but luckily there was another mattress on the other bunk that I could use to make it (a little) better.  The wi-fi was decent, but there was no plugs in the room!


But really, the main attraction was the city itself.  Gorgeous!

A few things that I would recommend to others if they're thinking about going to Strasbourg:

--If you're there for a short time, a bus/tram ticket makes getting to places faster, and definitely is a good price at 4 Euros for 24 hours (for a group of three- 5.50E, quite reasonable).  Don't use the a bus/tram without one- in only the few days I was there, I had my ticket checked twice.


And make sure you purchase the correct ticket.  In the train station there is a set of machines for the ter/regional train system tickets.  Same prices, but not the correct ones....  they don't fit into the validation thingys.

--Bring your own map.  The one from the tourist office was great in naming the top 20 places to go in Strasbourg, but the map itself had very little detail and made finding anything a little difficult (I think it had maybe, like, three street names on it).

--I would suggest one stay closer to the city center, as long as your purpose there is to be a tourist.  I wish I could have stayed out longer.  I'm not a big party/club/bar person in general, but the city is even more gorgeous at night and would have loved to be able to take more pictures.


In general, I really didn't do much overall.  I can't give you any must see places, other than Strasbourg itself.  Monday I walked around, and did a little shopping.  There were major sales in every store.  I didn't spend that much....  I think about 5 Euros maybe.  Just a little of this, a little of that.  A few postcards to add to my collection.


That night I ate at a little italian joint and had a pizza.  Now, it's not pizza like when we think of pizza in the States.  But thin crust, and really not much toppings.  Aber doch lecker (hehe, maybe I should say that in French since I was in France at the time....).

As far as "Chantilly Lace" goes....

When I was looking at the dessert menu, I noticed that almost everything had "chantilly" on it....  almost every other word I knew or could guess, but I hadn't brought my french/english dictionary out with me.  I could faintly hear that the guys next to me spoke English, so I mustered up the courage and asked them.

chantilly=Zahne=creme

Well, my question got the talking about the song, and conveniently my hair was up in a pony tail that night....

Even with construction, I was lucky to make it to the bus stop in time to make the last bus....  but the next night I knew I couldn't take any chances.

Tuesday, of course I slept in.  Once I finally got up and about, and into the center of town, I finally decided to make it to all the top 20 places to see in Strasbourg, at least according to my map.  I think I probably saw at least 15 of them, before I got tired and aborted my mission (probably most of it had to do with my frustration over the stupid map and not being able to find anything because of the lack of street names and a scale that was not in proportion to how things actually were).

I think my favorite place was the park (whose name I would now have to look up because the map itself was a victim of the "great lost purse" debacle of 2010) and there's definitely more that I would have like to have seen.  The only place I actually went into was the "Notre Dame de Strasbourg" but I took many pictures of my entire day. 

Dinner Tuesday night was at "Hippotamomus. Bar. Grill."  With a tagline of "Pour l'amour de la viande," (for the love of meat) I knew that I couldn't go wrong.

The rest of the trip went pretty smoothly....  well, until I got to Frankfurt and lost my purse.

18.7.2010: Adventures in Berlin....

I've only been here.... well, I guess it's coming up to the week mark, isn't it?

It's been a small little adventure, I must say.

I've been trying to do, well.... not much. But there's still stuff you can do with a budget that.... well, has no income and that you're going to have to pay off later.

The IC train from Hamburg to Berlin was an hour late. Instead, I took the next ICE train, which, I don't know, maybe I wasn't supposed to take. Even still, this train wasn't any faster. Stopped becuase of the heat, we arrived in Berlin about 3 hours later than I originally should have.

Off to find lodgings.... There was a Meiniger around the corner, unfortunately they didn't have any openings for the night, but were helpful enough to let me use their wifi to find somewhere I could stay.

Even though it's a little out of my price range (at least for a long term stay), Motel One was gorgeous. For 49Euros I got a small, but clean, beautiful room and bathroom. The wifi worked (which some places.... that I've paid more for.... can't even say that) and the breakfast was traditional German.

I would highly recommend Motel One to anyone looking for a decent hotel. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, and even let me use the wifi in the lobby for a duration of the next day, even though I wasn't going to be a guest there that night.

Tuesday morning I got right up and headed to find the US Consulate.

IT IS NOT BY THE BRANDENBURG GATE. It is in the middle of no where.

About a half an hour (or more.... I don't have a watch; my $3 one broke the first week of work....) and three UBahns later, I was finally there.

Since I hadn't changed my flight yet, there wasn't really much that they could do for me. So I got the papers and my pictures and headed back to the hotel to wait for STA travel to open (darn time difference).

In the meantime, I emailed Bill Nolting and Kalli Federhofer to see if by chance there was a way that I could reasonably stay in Germany. Between talking with my mother and Kelly Nelson, I decided that I was going to stay, rather than come home.

My goal has always been to improve my German this summer. Going home, well, the only thing I would succeed in is boredom.

After Tueday, my days have consisted of researching, planning and walking around.

So far, two guys have asked for my phone number, many beggars have asked for money.... which is especially hard now, since I have very little money myself, though I still have more than they do.

Yesterday (Saturday), I went to Media Markt in order to buy an iPod cord (it's one of the only non food or shelter thing I am going to allow myself to put on my credit card).... Unfortunately, even being a big chain store, they do not take credit cards. So no iPod cord for me.

I actually ran into this issue a few times.... So, no iPod cord and no fan for me.

Luckily it's actually cooled off a bit here in Berlin. Gees, it's been such a warm summer so far.... It didn't seem like that long ago that I was complaining on how cold of summer it was....


And yesterday, I ran into my first hostel drama in Berlin.

Yes, hostels are cheap (and this is the cheapest one I've been in yet on this trip- only 10Euros a night!). You get what you pay for.

Sometimes you get cruddy showers (like in Paris). Sometimes there's no lockers and stuff gets stolen. Sometimes there's one shower for ten people, all trying to get up around the same time and use it (like in Frankfurt).

Okay, and sometimes, if you're not staying in a youth hostel.... there's some interesting older people.

And you could be living, again, next to a WOS (World of Sex) and other stores (or museums??) of the like.

You share a room with up to nine other strangers, a great way to meet people.

However, you're more likely to run into people who speak English, than speak the language of the land. Definitely not a good way to practice your language skills if that's what you've come here to do.

I was rooming with six girls from Finland, a brother and sister from Spain and two people from England. English was our only common bond.

Sometimes you get annoying people who won't shut up at night.... why can't they understand that we're all hot, but saying it over and over doesn't help anyone get to sleep.

And then you get those who think they own the place and come storming in at 4 in the morning.

Now, I totally expect those coming in late at night after a night of partying and drinking. But I've never encountered people as rude as I did last night.

They came in hootin' and a hollerin' and all in all, just being as loud as the possibly could. I asked as nicely as I possibly could if they could be quieter or go to the lobby area and talk.

I must have been talking to thin air. They completely ignored me and just became louder and louder. Most people at least attempt to quiet down after asked....

I don't know....  maybe their English wasn't as good as it was sounding earlier....

To say the least, I'm glad there was an empty bed in another room I could switch into.

Oh, and I probably should mention the interesting guys that came to my room (when I was alone) and insisted that I ordered a pizza. Repeatedly I told them that I hadn't, perhaps it was someone else that wasn't in at the moment. After harrassing me about the junk that is outside the window, they finally left.... Ugh.... interesting people.

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Pictures


Just a picture from my travels in Strasbourg.

Pictures always tend to make me happy.  Especially if I take them.  :)


It's been hot here in Berlin (it had to be at least 90 degrees Fahrenheit today).  Definitely different weather from the last time I was here last late winter/early spring!